Jenny Hardy with the Honourable Alice Wong

Congratulations to our alumna, Jenny Hardy (MScOT13)

Jenny, pictured here with the Honourable Alice Wong, Minister of State (Seniors) is Project Coordinator for the Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA), Ontario project, Living Life to the Full for Older Adults. Minister Wong recently announced $3.7 million to fund this and five interconnected projects. To read more, visit the News section of the website.

OTs with Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne

OTs march in Toronto Pride Parade 2015

Organized by OT students Sharon Ling, Wendy Law, and Janine Haq, OT students and faculty (20+) marched for the first time in support of this year’s Pride Day on June 28, 2015, raising their voices proudly with inspiring OT chants (read chants here). See photo here of our OTs with Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne. To see additional photos, visit the News section of the website.

Lynn Cockburn

Congratulations to Dr. Lynn Cockburn on receiving the 2015 OT Alumni Achievement Award!

The Alumni Achievement Award was presented to Lynn at the Alumni Spring Reunion on May 29th by Biraj Khosla, Chair, UofT PT/OT Alumni Achievement Award Committee. Click here to read more on what Biraj had to say about Lynn, and why she is so deserving of this award.

Bonnie Kirsh

Muriel Driver Memorial Lecturer Dr. Bonnie Kirsh

Congratulations to Dr. Bonnie Kirsh on her Muriel Driver Memorial Lectureship Award. This lectureship was established as a memorial to Muriel Driver in honour of her many significant contributions to the profession of occupational therapy. Click here to read more from the CAOT website.

Mary Law

2015 Thelma Cardwell Research Day to be held on June 24, 2015

The Department of Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy is pleased to welcome our 2015 Thelma Cardwell Lecturer, Dr. Mary Law, Professor Emeritus, School of Rehabilitation Science, Co-Founder, CanChild Centre for Childhood Disability Research McMaster University. Lecture Title: “Enabling Participation: Doing What Counts". Click for Agenda

photo: OS and OT Directors

OT Alumni Leadership with the Ontario Society of Occupational Therapists (OSOT)

We are pleased to highlight the many accomplishments of our alumni who have chosen to serve on the OSOT Board of Directors in recent years. Congratulations and thanks to all of you. Click here to read their inspiring stories.

photo: AGEWELL

Congratulations to Alex Mihailidis

Congratulations to Alex Mihailidis, lead investigator on the $36.6.M NCE, “Aging Gracefully across Environments using Technology to Support Wellness, Engagement, and Long Life”, or AGEWELL announced today by The Honourable Alice Wong, Minister of State (Seniors). To learn more about AGEWELL.

photo: Mandy Lowe, Angela Colantonio, and Katie Churchill

Leadership and Innovation

Inspiring Stories About Our OT Alumni

We have created a place on our website to profile examples of OT alumni making a difference in their workplace, their communities and our profession through leadership and innovative initiatives. Click here to read the inspiring leadership stories about Mandy Lowe, Angela Colantonio and Katie Churchill.

photo: Nella Rupp and Susan Rappolt

Nella Rupp Receives Service Award

We are pleased to announce that Nella Rupp, Administrative Assistant - Clinical Education, has received the 2014 Department of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy Award for Excellence in Service. Read more.

photo: Rehabilitation Sciences Building

Therapy & Rehabilitation Professions Are In Demand

Research from the Council of Ontario Universities, as reported in the Globe & Mail on September 5, 2014, cites Therapy and Rehabilitation professions as having among the highest average annual salary based on 2011 graduate data. Read more..

photo: March of Dimes

March of Dimes Canada Invests $1.5 million to the Department of Occupational Sciences and Occupational Therapy

The March of Dimes has donated $1.5 million to the Department an endowed Early Career Professorship for Research in Acquired Brain Injuries.